PB&B Power Bowl

After a long and chilly winter, we are finally beginning to see some signs of spring where I live! There have been a few mild days, the snow is mostly gone, and this morning I woke up to the sound of birds outside my window. In keeping with the springtime mood, I’ve been switching up my breakfasts. During the colder months I usually stick to oatmeal or something warm in the morning, but I usually prefer something a little lighter in the nicer weather. I used whatever I could find in my kitchen to create this yogurt power bowl and it actually came out delicious! Even better? It can be made in under 5 minutes and keeps you full for hours.


For the base of my power bowl I used a vanilla Chobani yogurt. Greek yogurt has much more protein and lower sugar than regular yogurt, and I love Chobani because the company is dedicated to using only natural, wholesome ingredients. Since I don’t really like milk, the calcium in yogurt keeps my bones strong and serves as a good source of dairy. You can use any flavor you like, just make sure to put it in a larger bowl so there is room for all your toppings!

 Next you will need half a banana sliced thinly into coins. Bananas made a great post workout food, they have high levels of potassium which is an essential mineral for low blood pressure and efficient cardiovascular function. Not only that, but bananas are very low in fat and high in fiber, so you will feel full but easily burn off the calories. One study has even found that one banana is as effective at keeping your energy up as a serving of popular sports drinks such as Gatorade. Fill one half of the bowl with the banana coins. Don’t have any ripe bananas on hand? Use any other type of fruit (fresh, dried, or frozen) that you would like!

    
Next I filled the other half of the bowl with ⅓ cup of granola. The benefits of oats are seemingly endless, they provide whole grains and fiber that satiate hunger for hours and even reduce your risk of three different types of cancer. Granola can be high in protein as well, which helps replenish muscles after a workout of prepare you for a busy day. Just make sure that your granola is low in saturated fat and sugar, be wary of dried fruit or chocolate in granola because these ingredients tend to add sugar and will cause you to crash midday. My go-to granola brands are Simply Elizabeth, Cascadian Farms, and Kind. I’ve also found that while granola can be pretty expensive, granola cereal is usually on the cheap side and makes a great alternative.

To top off this power bowl I added 1 tablespoon of homemade, all-natural peanut butter (see my past blog post on how to make it!). You can use whatever kind of peanut/almond/cashew butter your heart desires, and your body will thank you for the serving of healthy fats. A reminder that eating fats won’t make you fat, they actually help support heart health and strengthen your hair and nails.


Now all that’s left is to enjoy your delicious creation and make the most of the day you’ve been given!
Ingredients:

  • 1 serving vanilla Greek yogurt (5.3 oz)
  • ½ banana, sliced into coins
  • ⅓ cup granola
  • 1 tbsp all-natural peanut butter

Directions:

Pour yogurt into a larger bowl. Add sliced bananas to one half and granola to the other. Top with a dollop of peanut butter and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

